Sutherland Shire – Affordable Housing Contribution Scheme

In early November, Shelter NSW staff, including CEO John Engeler, were invited and spoke to the Sydney Alliance community action group, councillors, residents and ratepayers to help inform on options to support affordable rental housing delivery in the Sutherland Shire. This resulted in Council adopting an LGA wide Affordable Housing Contribution Scheme (AHCS). The adoption of an AHCS for Sutherland Shire is a real credit to the ongoing efforts of the Sydney Alliance group on behalf of their community.   

Attendees of the Sutherland Affordable Housing Community Forum held at Engadine Uniting Church. Front row includes Federal Member for Hughes Jenny Wares, Forum contributor and local housing advocate, Janice Stokes, local Engadine convenors, Michael Bleasdale and Sue McKinnon, Sutherland Shire Councillor Diedree Steinwall, Jenny Leong MP for Newtown, Rose Jackson MLC, and State MP for Heathcote Lee Evans.